Rolleston St Mary           Rolleston St Mary        Croxton St Paul          Croxton St Paul    Eccleshall Holy Trinity       Eccleshall Holy Trinity    Lichfield St Michael       Lichfield St Michael   Burntwood Christ Church       Burntwood Christ Church     Barton under Needwood St James  Barton under Needwood St James


History of the S.H.C.T 



The ‘Friends of Ancient Staffordshire Churches’ was founded as a charity in 1953 with the aim of making grants for the restoration of churches in the county. Money for this was raised by membership subscriptions and special fund raising efforts.


 In 1982 the name was changed to Staffordshire Historic Churches Trust- still including Walsall, Wolverhampton and West Bromwich which in 1974  had become part of the new West Midlands county. In 1987 the annual sponsored cycle ride (later cycle and walk) was inaugurated which led to a significant increase in funds.


In the 60 years since formation 247 churches have been assisted, some more than once. This includes churches of many denominations – Church of England, Methodist, Roman Catholic, United Reformed Church, Quaker, Unitarian, Congregational and Independent.




For a more comprehensive history of the Trust click here SHCT history page 1   SHCT history page 2

         Horninglow St John the Evangelist  Horninglow St John the Divine      Derrington St Matthew          Derrington St Matthew          Blymhill St Mary       Blymhill St Mary     Great Haywood St John RC Great Haywood St John the Baptist      Berkswich Methodist        Berkswich Methodist       Haughton St Giles           Haughton St Giles